Ghoumy’s Top 500 Games (2020 Edition): #200-#101

Ghoumy
19 min readSep 8, 2021

The “Wowie, These Are Neato” Games

These are the games that are very good and that I would recommend to you that you should at least look at. They are as follows:

Dhalsim’s stage was definitely a fun time, but I’d also call the first “Wily” stage an unexpected but cool twist!

200) MegaMan X Street Fighter

This fan game has taken the great stages and characters of Street Fighter and put them into a very well made Mega Man game. All of the stages and bosses represent their fighting game versions very well and it all just feels right.

199) Castlevania: Rondo of Blood

I personally had a splendid time, but despite the cool skills Richter can do I didn’t find it to too special. Very good, though!

198) 3D Dot Game Heroes

This game was pretty brilliant for a number or reasons mainly being the ability to customize so much was a big hook. It’s also a very solid 2D Zelda game.

197) Animal Crossing: New Horizons

This is the game of the COVID-19 pandemic. When I lived a life that was 99% only inside my home this was what I played every morning and night. As far as the game goes while it is my first true experience with this series I can see the handful of shortcomings that have prevented me from returning since I’ve returned to the outside world.

196) Crash Bandicoot

The original Crash suffers at times due to the camera work, but when you’re not running towards the screen then everything fires off in a lovely fashion. I experienced the 2017 remaster of it and made me for the first time appreciate the tight controls and satisfying jumps.

195) Streets of Rage 4

The music is absolutely filthy in a good way and the beating them up part of the game has such a smooth flow that you can attempt to execute combos you would find in a fighting game and it would feel natural.

194) Sonic Rush

This game oozes style. They finally made a good new Sonic character with Blaze the Cat and while it suffers from too many pitfalls there is at least great boss fights, excellent music, and with the boosting / trick system it’s fun to just exist in this game.

It’s probably worth playing the entire game just to meet this man. Watching a video isn’t enough. You must truly experience Senator Armstrong.

193) Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance

Mundane probably shouldn’t be used to describe this game ever, but when you’re not in the many many many highlight moments you’re just going through hallways of enemies that aren’t nearly as fun to fight. Clashing with the big foes is thrilling and all of the presentation about it makes it truly shine.

192) Tetris 99

Tetris is pretty great. The frenzy of a battle royale can be great. Facing off against over 90 opponents at once as you try to survive and be number 1 in tetris? Great. They sure to like mashing up Tetris with things, huh? That’s because it usually works.

191) Baba is You

I don’t know if I will ever solve this game entirely, but I reached a point you could call the end and I loved what I saw to get there. It is a very difficult game that I had plenty of trouble with, but it is such a brilliant design. Plus, gotta love that wily Keke.

190) Kero Blaster

The game looks pretty simple on the surface but what is there is very finely crafted.

189) Tiny Toon Adventures: Buster’s Hidden Treasure

The ideas used to make this platformer mostly all work and it leads to some inventive level design especially with Buster Bunny’s ability to run very fast if you can find enough room to zoom. One of my favorite Genesis games.

188) Final Fantasy X

My PS2 died before I could finish this treasure of an experience. I will finish the job one day. I love the battle system and while I didn’t fully master the sphere grid it is a good leveling up system.

187) Super Mario Strikers

Much like Mario Superstar Baseball is mostly a well crafted baseball game with a touch of Mario, this is a well crafted soccer game in the same way. I had a great time playing this with none of the items or hazards, but that stuff being turned on makes it chaotic in a fun way. Also really enjoy how angry they all are.

186) Nidhogg

The aesthetic and combat are simple but beautiful. It’s like a violent tug of war and it’s a truly wonderful feeling to have won and be honored by being food for the Nidhogg.

185) Bloodstained: Curse of the Moon 2

This title takes the winning formula of Castlevania III and continues to twist at it and add new wrinkles. The cast here are very unique including a robot train piloted by a dog. I haven’t gone back for the New Game + yet, but it’s still a great experience regardless.

184) Donkey Kong Country 3: Dixie’s Double Trouble

The third game in this series tries new things and while they don’t all click with me the pedigree of these games still holds up.

183) Street Fighter II Turbo: Hyper Fighting

This is THE fighting game and it always will be.

182) Ufouria: the Saga

I refer to this game as Baby’s First Metroid sometimes. The very friendly platform-explorer has a very bright world to search through and I enjoyed every moment of it.

181) Night in the Woods

The main draw here is the writing and story which do wonders of keeping you hooked. I could have used more gameplay, but what is here is heartfelt and real even if it’s coming from talking animals.

180) Castlevania: Symphony of the Night

I came to the party late on this one so I don’t really get the hubbub. I don’t like using the menus or equipment in this game. The big reveal is absolutely astonishing, but it’s also the same castle but upside down so once the shock has faded you’re just backtracking really.

Looking pretty cloudy out there today. Also gonna say I didn’t do too bad for using the PS4 touch-pad.

179) Tearaway Unfolded

You can be so creative in this game and those opportunities to insert your own designs and whims into the game always pay off. I lost it when I was asked to draw a cloud and saw the sky fill up with hundreds of Cloud Strife. You can use the PS App on your phone to put photos in the game too!

178) Pokémon Diamond

Pokémon for me existed as a long time as something I could only engage with once in a long while. Spending over a hundred hours playing this game with my brother on the other side of the room where we would sometimes wirelessly link-up with our DS consoles was a brilliant time.

177) Castlevania III: Dracula’s Curse

It’s definitely the NES Castlevania game that is “the best,” but I find it to be more frustrating than I can handle at times. I perhaps like the original more just because I’ve thoroughly solved that game and this one remains a struggle to finish. However, the stages, character swapping, and music are sublime.

176) Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask

While I hold a childhood and young-adulthood grudge against this game when I finally gave it a proper chance it didn’t disappoint. I didn’t particularly want to engage with the large variety of side quests, but the things you can do and collect in this game are impressive. While it only has four temples they are all quite interesting and deserve a lot of respect.

175) Under Night In-Birth Exe:Late[cl-r]

I can’t say I fully understand the “vorpal” system or some other things about this game I can say that it feels very snappy, all of the characters are very cool, the presentation is directly up my alley. I wish I could play it better.

174) Bloodstained: Curse of the Moon

This game does such a good job of replicating Castlevania III and improving upon it. These totally original characters are exciting to use and when you can use them all in sync with each other for that true final boss it truly shows the accomplishment this game is.

173) Mario Party 3

If you’re trying to play Mario Party then you’re probably going to suggest we play this one. There is something to praise or complain about in a lot of regards, but it is one of the finest Mario party experiences and certainly has the best made single player campaign of the series.

172) Goof Troop

They used Goofy to make a top-down co-op puzzle game. It is a ton of fun and I’d consider it one of the best father-son games.

171) MegaMan X4

The second best X game gives you a fully unleashed Zero to play as. The action doesn’t disappoint in this one. The cutscenes are certainly memorable.

170) Super Meat Boy

Hard as nails action is really rewarding when you finish the level and see all of the times you blew it. It really speaks to what you had to go through to reach the goal.

169) Super Mario Galaxy 2

I don’t think it ever reaches the highs that the first Mario Galaxy game does, but there is still a lot of great Mario gameplay to be had here.

168) Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow

Soma Cruz’s first outing is an impressive one. Using the abilities of the monsters you defeat really livens up the platforming-exploration genre and being able to tackle the castle mostly however you want as far as combat goes makes it very exciting to play.

167) Disgaea

This is my favorite strategy RPG. Part of that is the entertaining cast of characters, the great aesthetic of Hell, and doing bombastic attacks as the Overlord all make for a great experience, dood.

Finally, it pays off to have watched DragonBall GT. I know exactly who this super baby is.

166) Dragon Ball FighterZ

The combat in this game is the closest I came to understanding how to play a 3v3 fighter. It helps that it is based on DragonBall which I know way too much about. Auto-combos made me feel way smarter than I actually was. The story mode left me somewhat disappointed.

165) MegaMan 4

Some of the better Robot Master designs made this game stand above previously mentioned titles.

164) Snipperclips: Cut it Out Together

I may have received a Switch with Breath of the Wild and Super Mario Oddysey, but this was the game that I particularly wanted to play. The unique concept of cutting shapes out of yourselves with a partner made for a hilarious partner puzzle game. I hope they make a sequel or something.

163) Super Smash Bros. for the Wii U

I love all of the Smash games, but this one sits at the bottom of the totem pole because it has no place in a world with Smash Ultimate.

162) Jackbox Party Pack 3

The best of the Jackbox games contains the hilarious t-shirt game and two fascinating “trivia” games. It even has a Quiplash for those who like that kind of thing.

161) Contra III: The Alien Wars

Until I gather the spirit to properly challenge Contra: Hard Corps, this is the best Contra game. It is my ideal control scheme in a 2D platforming shooter and the challenges, variety, and even those weird top-down levels all make for a superb experience.

160) Quackshot

Jumping around as exploration genius Donald Duck is a blast purely because of his unique tools that make for a platforming experience not like many others.

159) Street Fighter III: 3rd Strike

I don’t think I even knew there was a Street Fighter 3 until like 2012, but what I discovered was a game that many people consider perfect. I am not one of those people but I absolutely understand how you could get to that conclusion. Parrying is cool and should be in almost every game in this form.

158) Nintendo Land

This game didn’t show off what the console could do like Wii Sports, but it did play host to great amusements that celebrate the legacy of Nintendo. I wish this had online because I could play Mario Chase or Zelda: Battle Quest for hours. At least I can always play Donkey Kong’s Crash Course no matter how pleasantly frustrating it can be.

157) Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune

The beginning of an amazing franchise had some kinks to work out, but overall I found this to be a very charming game. While it maybe isn’t as bombastic as other entries but is still worthy of being labeled as epic.

156) Sunset Riders

I hate not having this game as high as possible, but there are better arcade shooting games. The characters, especially their voice lines, are amazing and this is probably the coolest western game ever.

155) Gunstar Heroes

The gun variety, amazing boss battles, and great game-feel contribute to something that outshines most 2D shooters. This game is special.

154) Antichamber

Playing with expectations is always fun and Antichamber does this very well. It took me forever to figure out a lot of the puzzles, but they almost always asked the player to think deeper than I would normally and that makes it feel so unique.

153) Marvel vs Capcom

I always liked the idea of 2v2 more than 3v3 so this game is right up my alley. The flashy attacks and small yet varied cast of characters (some I knew, others I learned to love) made for a game I would love to play again.

152) Psychonauts

Clever writing carries this show as the platforming becomes suspect later on. It’s still a neat 3D platformer even if the words Meat Circus brings dread to a lot of people.

151) Castle Crashers

While I don’t like the animals pooping in the woods the rest of the game is pretty funny and a great time if you can gather three other knights to your cause. It’s what I would consider the full realization of what those DnD arcade brawlers could have been.

150) Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze

The fifth Donkey Kong Country game offers some new variety with the inclusion of four playable Kongs, but while it’s a great experience it doesn’t do enough for me. I need to revisit this game to be sure, though.

149) Tetris DS

This is the Tetris game that helped me love Tetris. The variety of modes kept things fresh while the standard game was my favorite time-killer while a senior in highschool.

148) Crash Bandicoot 2

The platforming requires a lot of precision in some parts of the game and it is very satisfying to nail those jumps. Adding the slide to increase the skill required for some secrets is the perfect balance of challenge.

147) Heavy Rain

There is a lot to make fun of here while playing Heavy Rain, but it’s my favorite of the games by Quantic Dreams. There is no denying how amazing this game looked when it debuted. It still looks good. The story, while technically incomplete due to some cut content, is captivating and absolutely worth seeing through.

146) Sonic Adventure DX

I am a disciple of Sonic Adventure 2, but I can see the merit of this game. I’m not a huge fan of the other campaigns, but the Sonic stages and the “open world” used to get from place to place are very cool. Open Your Heart is the kind of song that if I had heard it as a child would have made me way more obnoxious than I am today.

145) Spelunky 2

It’s hard to fairly evaluate what you’re barely able to experience. I have a lot of trouble getting out of those first few areas of the game, but what I have experienced is definitely a proper follow-up to Spelunky. There is more of everything and it’s all as great as the first game. I find it a little too challenging at times, but once I sink in more time hopefully it won’t be as overwhelming.

144) Spelunky

This is a beautiful machine of chaos. While it lacks more variety found in the sequel it has a perfect balance of challenge early on that I would love to see in the sequel because while this game kicks my butt that sequel stomps my butt.

143) StarCraft: Brood War

This is truly the best RTS game for me. I’m awful at it, but I have a lot of fond memories playing FFA on Blood Bath as I build 90 Hydralisks to march into the middle and bully anyone who tried to walk anywhere. Most of my time was with the custom maps and the community truly made that game special for me.

142) Super Smash Bros.

The genesis of my favorite fighting game even if I played it as a party game for many years. And that’s totally okay because it is perfectly acceptable in both roles.

141) MegaMan 8

They corrected some mistakes made with MegaMan 7 here and came back with an interesting story concept complemented with fun gameplay mechanics thanks to the way they designed the weapons you acquire. I personally love to Jump Jump and Slide Slide.

140) Fall Guys

Some consider this game to feel a bit mushy and imprecise, but for me it is only a problem when I am swept up in a sea of 50 other jellybeans. I revel in the sheer madness of these moments. I don’t win the finale a lot, but it is always fun to reach for the top and they have done a great job updating this game so far.

FOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL!

139) A Hat in Time

While a certain area eventually lost me I found the writing and gameplay of this game to be fantastic. The Snatcher is an all time great guy.

138) Sonic Forces

This game is so stupid. I love it.

137) Halo 2

The only Halo game I’ve played was a great experience. I never finished the fight or learned more about how the fight started, but the powerful combat of Master Chief and his laser sword made me see the appeal in the series.

136) The Unfinished Swan

It blew my mind to begin in that completely white room where you hit buttons until suddenly you’re painting the world. It’s such a clever idea and the early moments of this game will forever stick with me.

135) Deltarune: Chapter 1

I don’t like the combat here as much as I do Undertale’s battle system, but there is a lot of potential here. The writing is absolutely delightful and I am very excited to see what comes next.

134) Pokémon Red

I find it hard to explain why I like Pokémon because I wouldn’t even consider myself a big fan. I would however say that I had a lot of fun trying to get all the monsters, raising a few of my favorites, and battling it out with them.

133) Pokémon Yellow

Having a close attachment to one of the Pokémon made me feel like I was truly in the TV show, and I bet that was the plan with this version of the game (especially since you can battle Jessie and James). This is just an overall upgrade to Pokémon Red.

132) Pokémon Fire Red

Now imagine if you further upgraded the Red version and added some of the cool advancements from the then-newer Pokémon games. To be fair I only played this as a hack where I only had a Gengar, but honestly that was a very fun way to play that game even if it meant hitting 95% of enemies with a Shadow Ball.

131) Minecraft

While I have never ventured into the deep dark abyss of Minecraft, I have always enjoyed my few sessions every few years where I dig a hole, set off to build a thing, and enjoy that thing for some time. It’s an amazing piece of software that always impresses me how much can be done in it.

130) Splinter Cell: Pandora Tomorrow

For me this is some of the best sneaking around gaming has to offer. I should definitely play more Splinter Cell games.

129) Legend of Zelda

The original Zelda is one hell of a mystery to play if you don’t have a guide, but the game gives you just enough if you’re willing to search across the whole world. This is a high quality game and deserves the respect as one of gaming’s most important games.

I still need to play the summer-themed DLC.

128) The Messenger

I cannot stand the writing, but everything else about this game is gaming bliss. You move around so fluidly, your momentum carries you around beautifully, the presentation is gorgeous, and I was eager to get everything in this game.

127) Punch-Out! (Wii)

Puzzling out how to defeat each boxer was exciting and while I was sad when I finally lost my title belt it felt great to have become the champion over what each time felt like an insurmountable challenge.

126) Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening (2019)

They took a game everyone but me loves and then made me love it with modernizing some player guidance and a stunning visual style.

125) Pokémon: Let’s Go, Pikachu!

Every time they make a new version of the original Pokémon game they manage to improve it. By making some quality of life changes and adding a way to play co-op (even if it’s really unfair) they’ve done it again and made the best version of the classic.

124) Resident Evil (GC)

The REmake added a lot of new stuff which is nice because I never played the original so it felt like a lot of great content. It is truly an eerie and dreadfully delightful game.

123) Tales of Symphonia

My sole forray into the Tales series did not disappoint me especially when I played it three-player (computer controlled our healer). The combat felt as if I were playing an arcade brawler in an RPG and that felt great.

122) Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney

I loved searching the scene for clues and questioning people. The courtroom drama was always amazing.

Sometimes the guns just do all kinds of wild stuff you have little control over. That’s cool as heck.

121) Enter the Gungeon

The challenge is stiff but well worth the challenge especially on runs where the diverse guns you come across all line up perfectly. Even on a bad run it’s fun to see what cool gun-themed items you’ll find. Stopping time is my favorite ability next to the hero turtle that is your partner to the end.

120) MegaMan 10

They continued the success of MegaMan 9’s revival of the classic franchise with more goodness. Playing as Bass feels incredible and the Wily Machines in the first Wily stage is an amazing boss fight.

119) Super Smash Bros. Brawl

Even if this is looked down upon as the worst Smash game there is still that incredible story mode to experience where there was so much attention and detail put into making all of those cutscenes with all of those characters together. I wish they would do this again because I loved it.

118) New Super Mario Bros. U

Nabbit was a good addition to this series even if I wish nothing but harm upon him whenever he crosses me. They made my favorite painting, Starry Night, into an aesthetic for one level and that’s cool.

117) Pokemon Sword

I, for one, liked having a smaller PokéDex to fill out. Sword doesn’t have the best story by a long shot, but it has some of the best characters. Raiding is a fun time with friends even if it’s clunky to do it.

116) Overwatch

Age hasn’t been kind to the game purely by way of the developers adding the wrong kinds of things, but this is still a vibrant cast of likable heroes that feels great to play when you’re not being knocked around for five minutes straight by the newer heroes. Go Philly Fusion!

115) Mortal Kombat (2011)

They made me care about the story in Mortal Kombat with this amazing reimagining of the story of the first three games. The combat feels great, the various modes available including the story mode are all amazing. This is their finest work that I’ve played.

114) Resident Evil 2

Leon is the true main character of all of Resident Evil and his first showing as a rookie cop is a strong one. The best classic Resident Evil game for sure. Those lickers are horrifying.

113) Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess

In recent memory people have begun to turn their backs on this game but it is still a whimsical adventure with a lot of characters to love. The sand and snow temples are definitely the highlights for me. When it came out I was pretty excited by having TWO hookshots.

112) Donkey Kong Country Returns

They were successful in bringing Donkey Kong back to his platforming glory, though I would love to play it without the motion controls someday. I absolutely love the Rocket Barrel levels.

111) Sonic the Hedgehog

My fate was decided when I got this for Christmas. I never stood a chance.

110) Castlevania: Harmony of Despair

Joining up with up to 6 people total to raid Dracula’s many castles was a thrilling time. I don’t think I ever got my Chaos Ring, but it was fun to grind them out.

109) Super Mario Sunshine

When you’re able to extend your Mario brain and reach places you wouldn’t normally be able to with the FLUDD or you bound from object to object in those “Secret” areas is when Sunshine truly shines.

108) Half-Life 2

The specialness of this game is lost on me, but what I do know is that the physics stuff, walking through Ravenholm, and learning about the characters of this world are an absolute delight. Maybe that’s all it needs to be for me.

107) Diablo 2

I spent so many days with a TV on in the background playing Fresh Prince of Bel-Aire while I played this after school. All of the classes are interesting to play and if rumors are true I’ll enjoy the hell out of a Diablo 2 remake.

106) God of War III

Kratos going all out to kill anyone who gets in his way makes a very satisfying conclusion to the trilogy.

105) Street Fighter Alpha 3

This fighting game is spectacular thanks to its well balanced and fun systems as well as a single-player mode that allows you to break the rules of traditional fighting games and power up your fighter.

104) The Witness

This game had me seeing circles attached to lines for the rest of my life. The moment I was walking through the trees, looked up, and saw one of those I freaked out. It’s a brilliant game.

103) Uncharted 2: Among Thieves

This game set the bar for cinematics in gaming. It’s absolutely beautiful and the big moments are spectacular. Nathan Drake is one of the best protagonists even if he has murdered thousands of henchmen.

102) Mario Kart 64

Super Mario Kart is great, but this is the true birth of the series. The battle mode is the best it ever will be and they can’t seem to recreate it for some reason.

Bowser’s Big Blast is definitely an important life experience to have.

101) Mario Party 2

Themed boards that makes the characters dress up, great mini-games that improved upon the first games’ collection, the introduction to the item system before it got out of control, and the ability to duel your foes makes this the best Mario Party.

Next: The top 100… mostly!

Table of Contents:

Introduction
#500-#401
#400-#301
#300-#201
#200–#101
#100–#11
The Bottom Ten Games
The Top Ten Games

--

--